Oliver Twist & Other Classic Tales: Six Illustrated Stories by Charles Dickens

Author(s): Charles Dickens


This book contains six illustrated stories by Charles Dickens. These are six great novels simply retold to form a child's first introduction to Dickens' unique view of humanity. It includes A Christmas Carol, Great Expectations, David Copperfield, The Old Curiosity Shop, Nicholas Nickleby, and - of course - Oliver Twist. Though teeming with extraordinary characters, events and locations, Dickens' writing offers us real insights into the social conditions of his day and the way in which ordinary people were affected. Sidebars explore the historical background and explain the language the author used, which still resonates today. Specially adapted by Sue Butler and with sumptuous illustrations by Jenny Thorne, this beautiful collection is an ideal entry point into the works of Dickens Charles Dickens was born on February 7th 1812 in Portsmouth, England, the son of a navy clerk. After moving to London, his father was imprisoned for debt and the young Dickens went to work in a blacking factory, an experience that contributed greatly to his later views on social reform.He became a journalist, but would be better known for his wonderful novels, short stories and articles - which are still widely read and adapted to this day. Some of his most memorable tales are retold here in shortened and simplified form.


Available Stock:

Add to Cart

Click & Collect

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9781861474087
  • : Anness Publishing
  • : Anness Publishing
  • : February 2015
  • : 282mm X 216mm X 8mm
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Charles Dickens
  • : Paperback
  • : Jenny Thorne
  • : 823.92
  • : Y
  • : illustrations throughout