The Old Testament



This book contains over 120 Old Testament Bible stories, from the Creation to the trials of the Israelites, retold in a clear, accessible, and exciting way. It features all the key characters and classic stories, including Noah's Ark, wise King Solomon, visionary prophets such as Elijah and Job, reluctant Jonah and the hungry whale. Stories unfold in historical sequence, so that readers can trace how God's relationship with His people developed over the centuries. Information panels are packed with extra insights into what the stories mean and life in Bible times and colourful maps highlight key places and journeys. This lively retelling of the major events of the Old Testament is matched by exciting and finely painted action pictures. From the creation of the world and the dilemmas of Adam and Eve, the stories unfold in historical sequence to give a complete and vivid picture of the people, places and events of the Bible. Readers will be able to grasp the significance of the fall of the ancient city of Jericho, and the journeys and troubles of the Israelites.


Available Stock:

Add to Cart

Click & Collect

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

Consultant Janet Dyson's specialist area is Religious Education and she has a Master's degree focused on multi-cultural education. She is currently working as a university researcher and teacher trainer. She works widely as a writer and consultant for educational publishers and British television. Victoria Parker graduated from Oxford with a degree in English Literature and Language. She has worked with children's books as writer and editor ever since, producing fiction and non-fiction titles, several of which have been shortlisted for literary awards.

General Fields

  • : 9781844766031
  • : Anness Publishing
  • : Anness Publishing
  • : June 2009
  • : 297x228mm
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Paperback
  • : 221.9505
  • : Y
  • : over 550 colour illustrations